haddock 🐟

Webrings

: More about webrings ⏰ 3 minute read


So as you saw in the last post, I have a new way to make webrings. I yoinked it out of the hands of Jess Bees and fiddled around to make it match my site aesthetic and have my friends on it (Or at least the friends who want to join a webring. “I have lots of friends who don’t have websites,” bragged the Neocities user.)

By the way, if you see something that looks fucked up and weird, BTW, please let me know. I’ll just go fix it and make it unified.

Here’s the new webring! I can actually initialize multiple ones now on the same page without it freaking out, which was a limitation of the old Hugo shortcode method I eventually gave up on trying to fix… I mean I could have fixed it eventually but Jess Bees’s method is more elegant and nice anyway.

If you want to join my webring, feel free to! Here are the steps that you’d need to take:

1a. Use Github and make a pull request adding your site to the webring

This is the fastest and least painful method IMO. It’ll automatically add itself and everything. All you have to do is go to the repo link and create a new HTML file in the _websites folder (TFE ring // Boba webring) that only contains the following text:

---
uri: https://yourwebsite.com
title: Your website's name!
desc: Your website description
date: 2021-06-04
---

And then your site will be added to the ring once I merge the pull request. I’m online all the time so I’ll do it pretty quickly.

1b. Contact me and I will add the site for you

You can always reach me at clonkbonk@protonmail.com with your website URL, name, and description as well as the webring you want to join. If you want to make a new ring with me for some reason I can also make a new one, since the two that I’ve already made are for specific groups that I’m a part of.

If you don’t want to use email, you can always go to my guestbook and leave a message there, but the spam filter might destroy URLS, which I have little control over.

I don’t check my email very often so it might take a while. But I will do it eventually!

2. Add the webring’s code to your website

Once your website is approved for the ring, all you have to do is add the following code to your own website:

<iframe src="https://nanufucker.github.io/boba-webring/sites/haddock">
</iframe>
<script src="https://nanufucker.github.io/boba-webring/assets/parent.js"></script>

and replace haddock with the name of the HTML file you submitted. If you’re part of a different webring, just replace boba-webring with the name of the repository.

It will look wacky and unstyled when you first do this, but you can easily change this by appending a stylesheet to the src attribute, like so:

<iframe src="https://nanufucker.github.io/tfering-jekyll/sites/haddock?stylesheet=https://nanufucker.github.io/tfering-jekyll/assets/alternate-embed.css">

Replace the stylesheet with whatever css file you want! And your webring will look however you want. I made the style match how I like my website to look, but your website will likely look different. If you need help with getting it to work, you can contact me and I’ll do my best to help.


These instructions were mainly written by Jess Bees and slightly reworded and modified by me to include info about how to join the ring. You can find the original documentation here.

― haddock,

#updates